Solved

How do I get an In-Home Display (IHD) for my Smart meter?

Show first post

207 replies

Userlevel 6

Yes. I was just making the point that if you still have SMETS1 meters then the old IHD will still show YOU data and readings from that old meter, so it may be worth putting batteries in it, or plugging it in, to take a look what it may still show YOU even if that is all that it does.

Eg. My new IHD only shows the new electricity meter, so I now have to go outside into the cold to read the old gas meter and send those in myself.

Hi guys, newbie here!

Ā 

I moved into a house a year ago that has a SMETS1 meter, but there was no in home-display.

Ā 

I called OVO and asked for a new display. They say they have none in stock and added me to a waiting list which I have been on for forever. In truth I think they will never send me one.

Ā 

In my dismay I purchase a SECURE Pipit 500 In-Home Energy Display meter (that shows the FirstUtility logo on startup) from eBay and rang OVO to get it connected. It didnā€™t work.

Ā 

Should I proceed with trying to get this to work? If so, how?

Should I get another SECURE Pipit 500 In-Home Energy Display, this time not registered to any utility provider?

Should I pester OVO to get me an officialĀ one?

Should I get something more like aĀ ivie Bud? Will OVO pay for this?

Ā 

All I want to do is very my energy usage, and I feel like OVO donā€™t care one bit.

Ā 

Thanks, Steve

Userlevel 7
Badge +1

HiĀ @stevowmtĀ ,

Unfortunately, no supplier is prepared to support an IHD purchased from unauthorised sources for security and integrity reasons. As a result, OVO wonā€™t support nor pair an IHD purchased on eBay.

Additionally, itā€™s the consensus of the Forum Volunteers (such as myself) and the Forum Moderators here on the OVO Forum that we will likewise not provide any support or assistance with eBay purchased IHDs, other than to recommend you return them for a refund.