Solved

My smart meter display is blank - Is the meter broken?

Show first post

86 replies

Am I entitled to take OVO to court over this? You don’t have a leg to stand on, given the last 3 months lack of communication. 

Userlevel 7
Badge +1

You might be able to try other contact options at https://help.ovoenergy.com . Otherwise, your best bet is https://ovoenergy.com/feedback .

I wouldn’t recommend going to court over this. It’s not worth the risk and besides, that’s not the appropriate course of action anyway. Just about any decent lawyer would probably recommend using OVO’s complaints process instead.

As for recovering the final reading, it is sometimes possible for an engineer to revive a dead meter for long enough to grab a final reading out of it. If they can do so, they will.

I am a chartered graduate engineer as opposed to a meter fitter. Can you explain what they do to recover the data? I can understand details…….or as I suspect it’ll be too late once the meter is removed. Then I’ll end up in a world of hurt, spending hours on a phone trying to contest estimated values whilst continuing to pay inflated charges. 
has anyone had any experience of the ombudsman? I guess there’s always the Sunday Times!! 

Userlevel 7
Badge +1

There’s solutions for that. Your usage on the new meter can be used to calculate what the final reading from the previous meter was.

But if the engineer somehow manages to pull off some black magic and get the meter to light up, they will attempt to take a reading. That’s all I have. Funny really, since I do actually know one of OVO’s Smart Meter Engineers. :)

Userlevel 7

Hey @charlie lee,

Sorry to hear you’ve not been able to get in touch with us,

I’ll get someone from Forum_Support to contact you. 

Hope this helps.