Solved

Can’t top up online, what can I do instead to top up?

• 1 October 2023
  • 17 replies

I’ve been trying to top up my Gas today however I keep getting the message to enter a valid account number despite it being correct. I’ve also tried topping up my Electricity to see if it was an issue specific to Gas but it’s also saying my number is invalid there as well.

The numbers I’m entering are correct and I’ve even copied and pasted the account numbers from my previous email receipts just in case I had been making an error when entering the numbers and it’s still saying they’re incorrect.

What is going on? I’m almost out of Gas.

icon

Best answer by KatMac 1 October 2023, 22:01

View original

17 replies

Mine doing the same, and no one available to help on a Sunday! I'm new to Ovo ..this isn't good! Website was under maintenance this morning so hoping its a glitch for now :(

I’m having the same issue with electric. Been ringing them since Thursday when new meter installed. They can’t fix it. And then to rub salt in the wounds a user on this forum blamed me for my issues.

Hope you get it sorted soon. I have to take a day of work tomorrow so I can chase ovo. I will be taking legal advice. 

Updated on 10/10/23 by Abby_OVO

Hi me again, I was using the portal on my devices if that's the word..via Google link to top up ...didn't work (account number not valid) but just downloaded app (same email and password) and its worked .. no idea if top up via link is working now again as gave up trying but app defo worked its added to smart meter screen. 👍 

If you’ve not already got it, you can download the OVO Energy Top-up app from the Apple App Store or Google Play, where you can top up quickly and easily at you’re own convenience. 

For more on issues with topping up, check out this handy guide: 

Userlevel 7
Badge +1

Hope you get it sorted soon. I have to take a day of work tomorrow so I can chase ovo. I will be taking legal advice.