Skip to main content
Solved

Electricity meter INCLUDES the electricity generated from my solar panels

• 31 October 2023
  • 21 replies

HI, firstly please forgive my ignorance - I am not an expert in this field.

I have PV system on my garage roof comprising 16 solar panels, a Solis inverter and a Pylontech battery.

My problem is that my electricity meter records ALL electricity energy used in my house as being supplied by my electricity supplier from the electricity grid but which INCLUDES the electricity self-generated by my panels which has been considerable.

My electricity supplier is over charging for the electricity being pulled from the grid as it records self-generated electricity as if it is being supplied by the grid.

They have recently installed a new SMETS2 meter but the problem of them also charging me for my self-generated electricity persists (i.e. it is showing all electricity being used in my house as being supplied from the grid) and is costing a fortune! 

Can anyone help with what may be causing this and how it can be rectified please?

21 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +5

This could well be due to your electricity meter @JohnnyMack .

What is installed ? Can you show a photo (no personal details). Some meters have been known to be set to count import and export together.

Userlevel 6
Badge +2

Hi @JohnnyMack I can see how that would be wildly frustrating.

How  long have you had your PV system, and was it in an effort to solve your problem that you had the SMETS2 meter fitted?

Do you have your own generation meter, which records all that your PV panels generate (regardless of how much is used by you and how much is exported back to the grid).

Was the system installed by an MCS registered person…if so, they should not have left you in this position.