Solved

Just moved into a home OVO supplies - How can I correct the meter details on the account?

• 31 March 2022
  • 5 replies

• New Member**
  • 0 replies

Hello everyone, I am new to the UK and it’s my first time to rent a flat. And the flat is an electricity only flat. No gas. The electricity meter is Elster. Not a smart meter. Not a prepayment meter.

My property agent informed me the previous tenants’ electricity supplier was SSE/OVO. After I checked SSE tariffs on their website, they showed me one year fixed tariff (unit rate - 38.05 pence per kWh; standing charge - 50.5 pence per day) and two year fixed tariff (unit rate - 35.91 pence per kWh; standing charge - 50.5 pence per day). However SSE customer service informed me the account had moved over to OVO Energy on 13/01/2022. 

So I went to check prices on OVO Energy site. The one year fixed tariff shows the unit rate is 40.03 pence per kWh and standing charge is 50.49 pence per day and a smart meter is required. The two year fixed tariff without a smart meter shows the unit rate is 40.26 pence per kWh and standing charge is 50.49 pence per day . Are these prices reasonable? I saw other people’s tariffs seem cheaper than mine. The prices seem too high compared to others. Can I choose any other flexible tariffs? I am so confused right now. I am still not sure how to deal with electricity even though I am moving in tomorrow.

I look forward to getting some advice from you.

icon

Best answer by Jess_OVO 7 April 2022, 11:49

View original

5 replies

Userlevel 7

Updated on 20/06/24 by Shads_OVO

After I talked to the collection team, they told me my actual meter serial number is registered as my neighbour’s meter serial number and required me to install a smart meter ASAP…

This does sound like a really confusing situation, @Nin and I’m sorry to hear you might have been mis-advised as to the best steps to get this worked out.