Skip to main content

Hi there, newbie here to Ovo and to smart meters - and certainly not an expert in electrical setup.

We moved into our new property just 10 days ago. Still surrounded by boxes to unpack.

I’m feeling a little stupid, but for the life of me I can’t find our electricity meter (or if I’ve found it, I don’t recognise it as one). 

I’ve found the smart gas meter, next to the gas boiler. This is a SMETS2 meter installed in 2021, with red A and black B buttons on. If I press either of them I get a gas reading with ‘m3’ units. There is also a honeywell smart thermostat. 

I’ve searched all around the outside of the property (front and back), and all the rooms, corridors, etc for the electricity meter. It’s not a huge property so there aren’t many places it could be.

There is an electricity ‘meter box’ outside at the front with the standard triangular key. Inside there is a big Series 7 100A cut-out fuse box. But there is no meter as far as I can tell.

The previous owner left no details or final reading and has not responded to my messages / questions.

I discovered that using UK Power Networks I could do a reverse search using my address and so I discovered the existing supplier (Ovo) and MPAN. Using this I’ve been able to create a new Ovo account, and they appear to have successfully connected to both the Gas and Electricity smart meters and given me a usage pattern for the last 10 days. So the meter must exist and be working!

What am I doing wrong? Any suggestions for where the meter is? Is it combined with the gas meter? Or simply hidden somewhere very strange?

Hi @zac-has-limited-knowledge , and welcome to this customer forum. Well you’ve got further than some if you’ve found your meter details. 
If you can post a few photos of the gas meter and inside the other meter box that might help someone to identify - please don’t include and personal info as this is a public forum.