Solved

Moving into new house, how do I set up my account?

• 24 December 2018
  • 82 replies

Show first post

82 replies

Pay On-Demand incurs more risk for both you and OVO, so they need to talk to you to make sure you understand that risk.

Additionally, Pay On-Demand costs you around £200 a year more than the same tariff paid by Direct Debit.

If, despite this, you still want to pay this way, use the keyword “agent” to get past the bot on Live Chat or try the phone again.

Why is there more ‘risk’? I’ve been paying on demand with Ecotricity for the last 12 years. How do you calculate £200 more? You can’t know what my usage is.

Louise

Userlevel 7
Badge +1

I use averages to reference that - £150-£250 a year more is the average extra cost for POD compared to Direct Debit or Prepayment. I am a forum volunteer who doesn’t work for OVO, so I act independently of the company.

The risk of non-payment is significantly higher in general than all other options - especially because payment can’t be collected automatically which in turn increases the costs to the supplier and therefore the customer.

I use averages to reference that - £150-£250 a year more is the average extra cost for POD compared to Direct Debit or Prepayment. I am a forum volunteer who doesn’t work for OVO, so I act independently of the company.

The risk of non-payment is significantly higher in general than all other options - especially because payment can’t be collected automatically which in turn increases the costs to the supplier and therefore the customer.