similar energy

• 26 December 2023
  • 12 replies

It’s important I know the difference with simplier energy and a pre payment metre.

can anyone explain to me the difference between these two as I been trying to get hold of someone from owo the pass 3 days

im a new customer and I don’t want my electric to cut off so is it a pay monthly plan out my direct debit???

12 replies

Userlevel 3

Hi Mrlouey!

I am not an expert, but I have been looking at this stuff in the last few days. Simpler Energy is not a pre-pay plan. So, if you are on Simpler Energy you either have a direct debit set up, which spread into 12 even monthly payments. If you don’t have a direct debit set up, then you will get an enormous bill every 3 months which you have to pay right away. 

Sounds like you are On Demand, so no, you have nothing to pay until the bill comes in. If you can’t or don’t pay that, you might be at risk of getting disconnected.

Note that the bill when it comes in might be huge. My electricity bill last February was £557 (before government subsidies). If you are On Demand, you need to put that money aside so you can pay it when it comes. If you switch to DD I believe it will lower your prices, and you won’t be surprised by a huge bill.

Hope this is useful. If someone comes and disagrees with what I have written, they will be right. But I could tell you are worried, and wanted to offer you some relief.

Userlevel 7
Badge +1

You’re almost right, except for one thing. OVO’s billing is monthly rather than quarterly. Bills will come on a monthly basis which means each one will be smaller than if they came every three months.

You do also have a few days to pay - you don’t have to pay literally the very second the bill arrives. As long as you pay by the due date, OVO will consider it as paid on-time.

Quarterly bills are also slowly being phased out across the market. Even the few remaining suppliers that currently offer them, will not offer them forever.