Tutorial

Solar Photovoltaic (PV) panels - Self installation Guide

• 8 August 2021
  • 4 replies
Solar Photovoltaic (PV) panels - Self installation Guide
Userlevel 7
Badge +2

Updated on 14/12/23 by Emmanuelle_OVO: 

One of our community members has written this guide to help if you’re planning a DIY-approach to installing some solar panels. It’s worth mentioning that the instructions below are followed at your own risk, If you’re not sure you can manage installing solar panels yourself we’d recommend consulting a MCS registered installer.

Check out this topic to find out more about OVO’s Solar Offering:

I’ve been using PV Solar Panels off-grid for about 20 years. I have built a number of devices which can use the DC power directly rather than convert it to 230v AC mains first. I even have solar-powered chickens with timed coop-lighting which fools them into thinking they have Mediterranean day-lengths. Lots more eggs :yum:

battery hens?

This year (2021) I’ve started an extensive revamp of my rooftop solar panels, and had one completely new array installed professionally by an MCS-accredited company. That allows those panels to be grid-connected either using an inverter or a Storage Battery.

Fortuitously my renovated Devon farmhouse has an extensive south-facing roof at the ideal angle of 35°

Array A is grid-connected

To the left of the photo is a scaffold platform under construction. This provides access to install two rows of panels above the glass roof.

Most professional PV installations use horizontal aluminium rails and clamps to hold the panels in place. Before the rails can be fitted, the first task is to fit strong stainless steel brackets to which the rails will be bolted.