Solved

I'm new to V2G: why with Boost is the unit only showing a charge at 2.1-2.2KWH and doesn’t having the 6.6kw charger on board make any difference?

• 27 June 2020
  • 7 replies

Userlevel 1

Hi All,

So Day 2 with my V2G - I’ve got a 30KW Leaf with a 6.6KW charger on board. Couple of questions - (1) why with Boost is the unit only showing a charge at 2.1-2.2KWH and (2) doesn’t having the 6.6kw charger on board make any difference?

Thanks

Sam

icon

Best answer by PurpleV8 30 June 2020, 00:18

Hi Sam,

In boost mode with a 30% battery, I would expect you would be getting a much higher charge rate than 2.2kw. 
As a next step, I would try to work out if the issue is the actual charge rate is only 2.2kw or is the charger really charging at a higher rate and the issue is only an error in the rate reported in the app.

To determine this, can you share how long it takes to charge a known percentage of the battery capacity. i.e. 50% of your 30kwh battery is 15kwh and would take just over 2 hours to charge at 7kw or close to 7 hours at 2.2 kw.

My V2G charger never shows over 5.4kw and often less on the app, but regularly charges the battery by 26kwh in 4 hours so actual average charge rate is 6.5 kw 

let’s see, once you get some measurements. 

View original

7 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge

@Sam72 welcome to V2G. I had my installed a week before as well.

I have a similar set-up to you so I assume you’re using the chademo charger (left) which is rated 7kw and not the 6.6kw (right) charger which you might have been using with Rolec or similar charger.

My understanding is that whilst the V2G unit is rated at 7kw the boost is limited due to DNO restrictions. Trying to understand as well… 

Userlevel 1

Hi Sylm_2000, yes that’s correct, V2G cable into chademo charger on the left. I’m getting maximially 2.1-2.2Kw charge rate on boost - is that the same for you? Thanks Sam

Hi Sam