Solved

Is a smart meter mandatory? As an amateur radio operator I'm worried the signals may interfere

• 1 January 2022
  • 32 replies

I am informed my meter is out of test and needs replacing. Am I obliged to have a smart meter? I have a complex WiFi arrangement with multiple access points, I run a local web and email server requiring constant power and I am also a practising licensed amateur radio operator regularly transmitting signals of the order of 50-100 Watts. I already experience serious interference from local sources such as VDSL and other people’s faulty “home plugs”. I have also read of all the issues which can arise from smart meter installation, including reports of electrical faults being introduced by the installing engineer (who on occasions with some companies has apparently been shown to be uncertified) and failure of the installation to properly communicate, giving users sometimes months of grief with much blame-passing between providers of various parts of the infrastructure. I would much prefer to stay un-smart and provide nice, simple meter readings! Is this possible, or am I legally obliged to go “smart”?

icon

Best answer by Lukepeniket_OVO 1 January 2022, 13:49

View original

32 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +1

Hi there @FrancB !

I think I can help here. I’m Blastoise186 by the way, and I’m one of the forum volunteers here.

Could you post some photos of your meter please? I’d like to see what you’ve got first as that helps me to check a few things. If you could also fill out your forum profile, that would be really helpful.

What kind of Wi-Fi are you running by the way? I use a LOT of Ubiquiti UniFi kit myself and have no trouble with interference at all from my Smart Meter, Raichu or the two IHDs that I have. They’re actually designed to keep out of your way and are nowhere near as troublesome as home plugs - in actual fact home plugs are about 1,000% more likely to interfere with your amateur radio setup than Smart Meters are.