Question

How can I get tech support for an In-home display (IHD) problem?

• 14 September 2021
  • 5 replies

Less than a month after installation our home display has ceased to communicate with the electricity meter. After 3 calls adding up to 3hours and 10 min over the last 3 months (which are awakward as i work for a living and apparently need to be next to the display when i call open hours do not suit working people) They have yet to get through to the tech team.... I would not reccomend Ovo and will be starting a complaint with offgen. OVO get your act together people be warned. 

5 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +4

Hi there @Hoops .

My name’s Blastoise186 and I’m one of the forum volunteers around here. We can try to help you out with this, but we’d need a few more details - mainly photos of your meters and IHD so that we can see what you’ve got. If you could also fill out your profile for us, that would be great.

OVO’s phone lines are only open on weekdays, but the Live Chat is also open on Saturday mornings as well, which might be easier for you. You can get to it from right here and there’ll be a pink button you can click on when the Live Chat is available - it replaces the email us option during opening hours so it’s hard to miss.

Userlevel 7
Badge +5

Hi @Hoops - sorry to hear this news.

Firstly us customers can’t take matters to Ofgem. They are the regulators for the UK energy industry.

You can take a complaint to the Office of the Energy Ombudsman, who are very helpful and effective. However you must first have demonstrated that you’ve used the Complaints Procedure of the Energy Supplier and that they have failed to resolve the matter.

We can provide guidance on how to handle this. Your first step must be to write an email to OVO stating that they have failed to resolve a matter which you first raised with them on {date}.