Pinned Interview

Do you remember when…352 miles in an EV seemed like madness?

• 11 October 2019
  • 2 replies
Do you remember when…352 miles in an EV seemed like madness?
Userlevel 7
Badge +2

Well our very own@Chris_OVO completed and MPG Marathon to find out if it was truly madness, or another EV myth….

EV Marathon

I may be new to OVO Energy, but I am far from a novice when it comes to electric vehicles - in the last three years I have covered more than three thousand miles in pretty much every EV going. My EV journey started back in 2015 with the BMW i3, but the real story began in 2017. I’ll share a little about my experience now - maybe it’ll remind you of a simpler time and show just how far EV’s and the infrastructure have come in the last two years.

I certainly raised a few eyebrows when I suggested using an electric vehicle on the FleetWorld MPG Marathon in 2017. With two days of driving, each involving 175 miles across varying road types, the suggestion that an EV could do it without charging was deemed madness by my colleagues.

Undeterred by their jibes - and their insistence that I would end up on a flatbed - I pushed on and Hyundai kindly provided me with an Ioniq, at that time featuring a 28kWh battery. No EV had completed a day on the MPG Marathon without charging before, and I was a complete novice to eco-driving - far more known for my reputation as an ace karter and autotester.

Quick calculation time. Usable battery in the Ioniq was apparently 27kWh, and the route was around 175 miles per day. That would mean an average of almost 6.5mi/kWh, and my early driving in the Ioniq was suggesting that 6mi/kWh was possible, but that I would need to find a bit more.

Day One: