Free electric vehicle (EV) public charging points - tips and recommendations

Userlevel 4
Badge

Go for the highest spec you can if you need the range. I have a 2019 Nissan Leaf 40kw Tekna which is brilliant for me as I'm a volunteer driver and usually just potter around locally so 160 miles is fine and I only need to charge it (at home) once a week. I just visited my sister in the New Forest at the weekend and charged at Winchester Services through Ecoserve and it was free. 😀

Haven't heard of ecoserve before, are they new @Gingernut49? I'm heading down to Southampton and so would be good to charge on the way back if it's a fast charger?

11 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +1

Sorry, my mistake: Gridserve. They've taken over Ecotricity I believe. I charged at Winchester Moto Services in both directions and it was free and they had both Chademo and CCS. I topped up at Cobham and it was only £2.35.

Userlevel 4
Badge

Sorry, my mistake: Gridserve. They've taken over Ecotricity I believe. I charged at Winchester Moto Services in both directions and it was free and they had both Chademo and CCS. I topped up at Cobham and it was only £2.35.

Thanks, did you need an app or anything or was it just a case of plugging in and that was it?

Userlevel 5
Badge +1

All the instructions are on the screen and it's very easy. When I did have to pay I just had to tap my card on it like any contactless payment. My only negative is that another car was charging on the CCS half of the machine and I couldn't use the Chademo until he'd finished. There were five CCS 'halves' but only one Chademo for my Leaf.

Userlevel 4
Badge

All the instructions are on the screen and it's very easy. When I did have to pay I just had to tap my card on it like any contactless payment. My only negative is that another car was charging on the CCS half of the machine and I couldn't use the Chademo until he'd finished. There were five CCS 'halves' but only one Chademo for my Leaf.