Anyone have experience of Ground Source Heat Pump in conservation area or listed building?

• 1 July 2021
  • 6 replies

Userlevel 3

I’m probably going to install a Ground Source Heat Pump (GSHP) in a house ~150yrs old with living area of 300m$^2$.  Most of the “Fabric First” issues have been addressed (roof, windows etc), though still some some minor work to do;  except Internal insulation of external walls. 

The walls are about 600m stone with lathe and plaster, with intricate cornices.  I don’t want to damage or obscure the cornices, and am willing to accept the penalty.

I’m no electrician but Maximum Demand with diversity is approaching single phase limit with V2G charger and GSHP.

I’m interested if anyone has got experience of similar set up.

6 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge +2

Car chargers can be turned up and down generally without penalty - I’m sure others can do this, but I know the Myenergy Zappi charger can have a current sensor on the house mains connection, and can be programmed to reduce the chargeing current when demand is high.

Userlevel 3

@RobL That’s interesting, didn’t know that.

Userlevel 7

Our resident home-building expert, @Transparent has written a recent piece about calculating the maximum demand of his house:

Wonder if he has any further advice in terms of installing a GSHP without having to disturb your cornices? 

Userlevel 3
Badge +2