Solved

How can I help a friend understand the increase to their bills since their account was moved from SSE to OVO?

• 16 June 2022
  • 4 replies

Hi Forum,

I am trying to assist an elderly friend that is having issues with his SSE/OVO account.

He has a semi detached home built 30 years ago, three storage heater and general appliances but uses the later very little imo.

The property has an Alcara 1416-B smart meter fitted 18/5/21

His energy bills have gone up and currently a quarterly bill is £800+ which is not right imo.

I checked the readings and they are correct to the billing, however I told him to switch off the storage heaters for a week and the readings have come down to what I would say is fairly normal, still not great.

I understand that there has been an issue with the switchover from sse to ovo on economy seven.

How do we get this sorted, I am not an electrician but did switch the power off for the house and the meter did not record additional units, so guess that the meter is ok. He is elderly and is not computer literate

Any advice would be appreciated as this elderly gentleman is getting stressed out by the excessive bills.

I have advised him and he is paying the previous monthly amount so that at least he is paying.

Best

Cromer Crab

icon

Best answer by Jess_OVO 17 June 2022, 12:07

View original

4 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +1

Hi Forum,

I am trying to assist an elderly friend that is having issues with his SSE/OVO account.

He has a semi detached home built 30 years ago, three storage heater and general appliances but uses the later very little imo.

The property has an Alcara 1416-B smart meter fitted 18/5/21

His energy bills have gone up and currently a quarterly bill is £800+ which is not right imo.

I checked the readings and they are correct to the billing, however I told him to switch off the storage heaters for a week and the readings have come down to what I would say is fairly normal, still not great.