Solved

How can I tell which is the day reading and which is the night reading on my Economy 7 meter?

• 3 July 2019
  • 7 replies

Hi OVO,

I received repeated emails concerning my meter readings and I need your help here. I have a meter installed displaying both day/ night rates, by flickering one after the other constantly. They’re marked as Rate 1 and Rate 2, not specifically ‘day’ or ‘night’.

I just newly moved into this one bed flat and I'm an international student. It’s confusing even for my landlord to explain which rate refers to day/ night. But I’ve already set up a direct debit.

Here are both my readings and pics for this reading. Could you help by explaining to me how to understand the numerals?

Time for the meter readings: 3/July/2019, 9:30 am.

The day register ID and reading: 69766 (referred to as ‘rate 1’ on my meter).

The night register ID and reading: 28946 (referred to as ‘rate 2’ on my meter)

234e2dec-d5cd-4a97-b742-6d841ac8751d.jpg

d2bce93b-8f29-4807-980c-a098b85043b4.jpg

icon

Best answer by Eva_OVO 4 July 2019, 11:20

View original

7 replies

Userlevel 5

Updated on 28/06/23 by Abby_OVO

Great question to ask about taking readings when you’ve got a dual rate or Economy 7 meter.

On a traditional meter sometimes the readings will be labelled - high and low or day and night-  which is easier to determine which reading is which. In your case the registers are labelled rate 1 and rate 2, usually rate 1 refers to your day register but not always so it’s good to check before submitting your meter readings. You might be able to work out which reading is which by checking the current reading against your reading history on the ‘Meter Readings’ page of your online account or OVO app (download for Android or iOS).

If you can’t work it out using these methods the best way to tell is to carry out a Load Test​. This involves taking two sets of readings during your peak hours - only one reading should change which will be your daytime register.