Solved

Do OVO send out meter reading reminder emails?

I am new to Ovo and would like to know whether I get an email reminder when the meter readings are due?
icon

Best answer by Lucy_OVO 21 April 2017, 15:57

Hi

I know I am partly to blame for not always submitting meter readings, but still to receive a bill for one month for Gas alone of over £250 because OVO estimates were so far out seems ridiculous!
OVO could have given me some kind of warning that this amount was going to be charged.
What I don't understand is that the Electric bill estimates were over what I had used (only just) and I have been a customer since 2011 and there would be a trend to my Gas consumption (higher in colder months, less in warmer)
It seemed a bit unfair to suddenly realise that the estimates for a year were incorrect and to recoup all at once?

Hey KevinT,

Good question. Normally, if you’ve provided regular meter readings, the estimate wont be too far off but that’s the thing about estimates, they are just that.

The best way to make sure you’re billed correctly each month is to provide us with regular meter readings. If you want to send me a private message with your name, DoB and OVO account number, I can advise you of the best day to submit them. 🙂

I've also moved your topic onto this thread as two other users have queried meter readings!

Lucy
View original

12 replies

Hi

I know I am partly to blame for not always submitting meter readings, but still to receive a bill for one month for Gas alone of over £250 because OVO estimates were so far out seems ridiculous!
OVO could have given me some kind of warning that this amount was going to be charged.
What I don't understand is that the Electric bill estimates were over what I had used (only just) and I have been a customer since 2011 and there would be a trend to my Gas consumption (higher in colder months, less in warmer)