Solved

Unable to switch because my electricity meter has been registered on the national data base as an industrial meter?

• 24 June 2019
  • 7 replies

I've manged to find a more competitive rate and daily charge so applied to change supplier, unfortunately my electricity meter has been registered on the national data base as an industrial meter rather than a house hold domestic meter, which means I can't transfer.

I've sent a mail to OVO tonight to request that they update the national data base with immediate effect, let's see how long it takes them shall we.

I work in the energy industry so know how long it should take, unfortunately I can't resolve it myself, I'm in the hands of OVO.

Will keep this thread updated with progress on a daily basis.
icon

Best answer by Nancy_OVO 25 June 2019, 13:32

Hi @keeling54,

It's very unlikely that we'd have registered your supplies as industrial ones, as we don't offer commercial tariffs, only domestic ones. It sounds like your property has smart meters, which send the readings every half hour. This gives the occupier of the property better visibility of their usage, and allows for energy demand to be matched for accurately and efficiently. It’s a win/win.

This is an industry wide change, so the supplier you’re trying to switch to should be aware of this update, and be able to take over your supply. Sadly, there’s a few suppliers who incorrectly interpret half hourly meter readings as being a business supply. It used to only be a business supply that did half hourly settlement (technical term). They’re wrong, and will be able to apply successfully. That said, we can change the smart meters and the database so that it’s not half hourly, in order to avoid confusion from another supplier. It will take several weeks to do. A quicker way would be to reach out to your chosen supplier and highlight their error.

Hope this helps!
View original

7 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge
Hi @keeling54,