Solved

First Direct Debit payment taken 1 month early

• 29 September 2017
  • 13 replies

I'm brand new to OVO Energy. I was told that my first Direct Debit payment would be taken on 30 October. I was notified that I joined on 27 September and on 28 September OVO took their first payment. Has anyone else had this happen to them? Is this normal? It seems unfair to me as I will likely need to sort out my balance with British Gas in the next few days.
icon

Best answer by Darran_OVO 29 September 2017, 16:44

Hey @Kindlefirebabe Welcome to OVO and welcome to our forum! Great to see you getting stuck straight in. We hope you will enjoy being part of our forum family.

In regards to your question, the first direct debit would normally be taken pretty soon after the date you come on supply so it sounds unusual that you thought it would not be taken until the 30th October. Sometimes though, the Direct Debit date can be set just before the supply start date, but you'll always be notified of your Direct Debit date ahead of the switch.

It would be worth checking all the emails and letters you will have received from us as you should have received an email, probably a week or two before you came on supply to advise of your first direct debit date. If you don't see one, its always worth checking your junk or spam folder just in case it ended up there.

Let us know how you get on, any other questions feel free to search the forum or comment below.

Darran
View original

13 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +2
Hey @Kindlefirebabe Welcome to OVO and welcome to our forum! Great to see you getting stuck straight in. We hope you will enjoy being part of our forum family.