Solved

How much power do you use from the grid, on average, throughout the darker days of the year?

• 17 January 2020
  • 10 replies

Newbie here, hello everyone!
I have a problem / query / concern!

We had solar panels and two batteries installed in March 2019.
On 22nd November, we had Smart Meters installed for electricity & gas. 
Since then, our electricity usage has rocketed and I do not believe it’s a coincidence. 

Usage:
Apr: 22kWh
May: 35kWh
June: -59kWh
July: 5kWh
Aug: 9kWh
Sept: 40kWh
Oct: 17kWh
Nov: 47kWh
Dec: 104kWh
Jan: 305kWh

The last few months in detail:
Oct to Nov =  47 kWh (clocks go back)
3rd Nov to 22nd Nov = -(minus)2 kWh!!
22nd Nov to 3rd Dec = 106 kWh!! (smart meter installed on 22nd)
4th Dec to 3rd Jan = 305 kWh!! 

I appreciate you will use more electricity in the winter but this seems suspiciously high. 

I have tweeted OVO and done the creep test as recommended; I didn’t find any issues.
We haven’t had any new appliances and our daily routine has not changed.
I have contacted our PV installer and they will be coming round to check everything.

Can anyone provide an insight as to how much power they use from the grid, on average, throughout the darker days of the year?

Help appreciated,
Matt  

icon

Best answer by PeterR1947 21 January 2020, 17:48

These are my usage figures for the same period that you quote, I am an EV driver so have subtracted the usage that was for chargng the car.  I also have a 2.82kWh PV system

Apr 216

May 207

Jun 201

July 75 (good generation month)

Aug 228

Sept 193

Oct 154

Nov 163

Dec 266

Your figures pre-smart meters look a bit unrealistic, unless you have a massive PV system; mine is 2.82kWh and I tend to use between 10 to 15 kWh per day without charging the car and without too much PV generation, however, I don’t have a battery.  Do you charge the batteries on an E7 rate at night then use the batteries during the day?